Supervisory authorities

CNRS

Search




géosciences montpellier
université
de montpellier
campus triolet
cc060
place eugène bataillon
34095 montpellier cedex05
france

+33(0)4 67 14 36 02

Nom tutelle large
OREME

Home > Platforms > Petrophysics

Petrophysics

Management : Richard Leprovost (IR) and Sylvie Demouchy (CR)

This platform brings together researchers from CNRS, teacher-researchers from the University of Montpellier, engineers and technicians, post-docs and students. They work for a large part by an experimental approach on the physico-chemical properties of rocks and minerals of the crust and the mantle, but also on porous media for applied reasearch in geotechnics (cement, rock-cement interface, etc.).

This platform is divided into three components:

  • The ICARE laboratory, located at the « Maison des Sciences de l’Eau » (Building 40) focused on fluid-rock interactions, and aim to reproduce the flows of different types of reactive fluids (liquid and gas) - in rock samples or geomaterials (e.g. cement) under pressure and temperature conditions relavant of the sub-surface to the geothermal systems (i.e., 30 MPa and 300 ° C). Applications include the geological storage of CO2, alteration of cements and clay, extraction mechanisms of shale gas, the remediation of leaking underground tanks, geothermy and hydrothermalprocesses including geo-gas production and serpentinization. The laboratory also includes various analytical equipment such as porosity measurements of permeability of water or air, analysis by gas chromatography and Raman spectrometry. The laboratory maintains a significant level of technological innovation and is among the best in the world. The experimental part is completed by micro-tomographic image analysis (image processing platform) and scientific computing for the modeling of thermo-hydro-chemical processes (with a dedicated cluster). Funding is mainly done through collaborative research grant from France (ANR) and Europe (e.g. notably FP7 ITN ABYSS) or from direct collaborations with industrial and national or international research centers.
  • The EBSD Service is dedicated to the physical characterization of materials. It is located on the ground floor of Building 24, as part of the electron microscopy common facility of UM. This world-renowned service includes two scanning electron microscopes dedicated to the measurement of crystallographic orientations (JEOL JSM 5600 SEM and CamScan X500FE CrystalProbe). They are both equipped with an EBSD system and an EDS detector, cooling plates, and a heating plate for in situ testing in the case of CamScan Crystal Probe. The processes studied are those of magmatic or ductile deformation and recrystallization via the measurement of lattice preferred orientations in rocks from the mantle and crust, but also in ice, ceramics and metals. The acquisition of the microscope CamScan X500FE CrystalProbe in 2008 was jointly funded by the CNRS-INSU, Region Languedoc-Roussillon and the Ministère de la Recherche and the experimental developments, by research grants (ANR CrystalTex, ANR DREAM). The CrystalProbe is a national instrument of CNRS-INSU, but the functioning of the service is largely funded by paid analyses, with different prices for academia and private sector users.
  • The High Pressure Laboratory, located in the basement of Building 22, is dedicated to the experimental quantification of the physical properties of rocks and minerals of the mantle and the crust, such as thermal conductivity, electrical conductivity, acoustic velocities, permeability and porosity of the rocks or other natural materials (i.e., altered icelandic basalts or some exotic Australian corals), ductile rheology and semi brittle friction processes or ionic diffusion in static or dynamic conditions. The most recent technological developments is an home made fluid injection system with pore pressure controlled. The studies are done at atmospheric pressure initially (i.e., home made prototypes), but experiments are especially run at high pressure and high temperature using a press Paterson (gas vessel). The fundings are from research grant (INSU projects, FP7 HITI, IMAGE, H2020 ITN CREEP, IRG Marie Curie POEM, ANR INDIGO).

Nos tutelles

CNRS

Rechercher




géosciences montpellier
université
de montpellier
campus triolet
cc060
place eugène bataillon
34095 montpellier cedex05
france

+33(0)4 67 14 36 02


Accueil > Plateformes > Pétrophysique

Pétrophysique

Responsables : Richard Leprovost (IR) et Sylvie Demouchy (CR)

Cette plateforme regroupe des chercheurs du CNRS, des enseignant-chercheurs de l’Université de Montpellier, des ingénieurs et techniciens, post-docs et étudiants. Ils travaillent, pour une grande partie par une approche expérimentale, sur les propriétés physico-chimiques des roches et minéraux de la croûte et du manteau terrestre, mais aussi sur les milieux poreux rencontrés en recherche appliquée en géotechnique (ciments, interface roche-ciment, etc).

Cette plateforme est subdivisée en 3 composantes :

  • Le laboratoire ICARE : interactions fluide-roche, situé à la Maison des Sciences de l’Eau (Bâtiment 40), permet de reproduire les écoulements de différents types fluides (liquides et gas) réactifs dans des échantillons de roches ou de géomatériaux (ex : ciments) dans les conditions de pression et température de la sub-surface aux systèmes géothermaux (i.e. 30 MPa et 300°C). Les applications concernent par exemple le stockage géologique du CO2, l’altération des ciments de puits et des couvertures argilitiques, les mécanismes de destockage des gaz dans les schistes, la remediation des fuites dans les réservoirs souterrains, la géothermie et l’hydrothermalisme incluant les mécanismes de géo-production de gaz et de serpentinisation. Le laboratoire comprend aussi différents appareillages d’analyse tels que les mesures de porosité, de perméabilité à l’eau et à l’air, l’analyse des gaz par chromatographie et spectrométrie Raman. Ce laboratoire maintient un niveau d’innovation technologique important et est parmi les plus performants au monde. La partie expérimentale est complétée par des moyens d’analyse d’image micro-tomographique (plateforme de traitement d’image) et de calcul scientifique (serveur de calcul dédié) pour la modélisation des processus thermo-hydro-chimiques. Le financement du laboratoire se fait essentiellement au travers de projets de recherche collaboratifs au niveau national (ANR) et Européens (ex : FP7, H2020) et collaborations directes avec des industriels et des centres de recherche nationaux ou internationaux.
  • Le Service EBSD : caractérisation physique des matériaux est situé au rez-de-chaussée du bâtiment 24 au sein du service commun de microscopie électronique de l’UM. Ce service de renommé mondiale regroupe deux microscopes électroniques à balayage dédiés à la mesure d’orientations cristallographiques (JEOL JSM 5600 SEM et CamScan X500FE CrystalProbe). Ils sont tous deux équipés d’un système EBSD ainsi que d’un détecteur EDS, d’une platines réfrigérante et d’une platine chauffante pour l’expérimentation in situ dans le cas du Camscan Crystal Probe. Les processus étudiés sont ceux de la déformation ductile ou magmatique et de la recristallisation, via la mesure d’orientations préférentielles de réseaux cristallins dans les roches du manteau et de la croûte terrestres, mais aussi dans la glace et les métaux. L’acquisition du microscope CamScan X500FE CrystalProbe en 2008 a été financée conjointement par le CNRS-INSU, la région Languedoc-Roussillon et le Ministère de la Recherche. Les développements expérimentaux ont eux été financés sur projets (ANR CrystalTex, ANR DREAM). Le Crystal Probe est un instrument national du CNRS-INSU. Le fonctionnement du service est toutefois largement financé par la facturation des analyses.
  • Le Laboratoire Hautes Pressions, situé au sous-sol du bâtiment 22, est dédié à la quantification par l’expérimentation des propriétés physiques des roches et minéraux du manteau et de la croûte terrestre, comme la conductivité thermique, la conductivité électrique, les mesures de vitesses acoustiques, la perméabilité et la porosité des roches ou autre matériaux naturels (i.e., coraux australiens), la rhéologie ductile et semi cassante, les processus de frictions, ou la diffusion ionique en conditions statiques ou dynamiques. Les développements technologiques les plus récent concerne l’injection de fluide et pression de pores. Les études se font à pression atmosphérique dans un premier temps (i.e., prototypes), mais surtout à haute pression et haute température en utilisant une presse de Paterson (autoclave à milieu de confinement gazeux). L’essentiel du financement se fait sur projets (projets INSU, FP7 HITI, IMAGE, H2020 ITN CREEP, IRG-Marie-Curie POEM, ANR INDIGO).